Patrons Club 2019-10-07T20:20:19+00:00

Patrons Club

The Scottish Traditional Boat Festival has developed into a major event bringing together the maritime heritage of the area and the best of local food, music and craft. It is now an event firmly established in the national calendar with an international reputation, attracting up to 16,000 visitors per year.

The event organisers work ceaselessly to deliver the Festival and to ensure that all costs associated with this event are met through ticket sales, sponsorship, donations and other fundraising. Any small surpluses that accrue are carried over for a rainy day to meet any shortfall that might occur.

The Patrons Club helps to ensure the long-term sustainability, vitality, and success of The Scottish Traditional Boat Festival. Faced with a significant loss, the future of the Festival would be in jeopardy and for that reason, the Patrons Club has been formed.  Valerie Cheyne has kindly agreed to act as Patrons Club Ambassador.

Each member of the Patrons Club would agree to underwrite a figure of £1000 over a ten-year period. We hope to attract around 60 members to join the Club. Calls would be made only if necessary and to all members of the Patron’s Club, thus by way of example, a £6000 shortfall would result in a call to each member of £100.

While it is hoped that these funds are never called upon, in the event of a shortfall there would be a fund in place to allow the Festival to meet any obligations and continue into the future.

In return for this support, members will receive a dedicated badge marking their membership of the Patrons Club, listing in the Festival programme and on a wall plaque, and, of course, the knowledge that through their support they are helping sustain and support the Festival and all the good works that are associated with it.

If you would like more information, or to become a member of the Patrons Club, please email contact@stbfportsoy.org 

Patrons Club Members

Patrons Club Ambassador – Mrs Valerie Cheyne DL,  Rothiemay
The Earl of Seafield
Mrs Clare Russell
Mr Oliver Russell
Mr Les Allan
Mr Bryan Angus
Mr Philip Benzie
Mrs Hazel Benzie
Mr Mark Brady
Mr Peter Bruce
Mr Tom Burnett-Stuart
Mr Alfie Cheyne
Cllr John Cox
Dr Deborah Evans
Mr Andrew Goodyear
Mrs Liz Goodyear
Mrs June Goodyear
Mrs Helen Gray
Mr Ian Hutchison
Mrs Sandra Hutchison
Mr James Ingleby, Lord-Lieutenant of Aberdeenshire
Mr Alasdair Locke
Mr Colin Mackenzie
Mr John S Mathers
Dr Anne McArthur
Mr Ronnie McCallum
Mrs Kathryn McKay
Mr Gary McKay
Dr James S Milne, CBE

Mr Brian Morrison
Mr Eddie Morrison
Mr Paul Mudie
Mr Keith Newton
Mrs Marion Newton
Mr Vinay Ruparelia, DL
Mr John Stewart
Mr Derek Summers
Mrs Lorna Summers
Mrs Gael Thomson & Mr Sandy Thomson
Mr Hamish Vernal
Mr John Walker
Anonymous Benefactors
Addison Electrical – Kenny Addison
The Creative Retreat – Carla Angus
Celebrations of Turriff
David Urquhart Joiners
Moray Hearing Centre
Downies of Whitehills – Mr Alan Downie
Fife Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Hamlyns of Scotland Ltd
Macduff Shipyards Ltd
MFV Silver Wave – Mr Chris Stewart & Mrs Moira Stewart
North East Boiler Sales & Services Ltd – Mr A.B, ‘Jock’ Logan
Ritsons, Chartered Accountants
The Spotty Bag Shop – Mr Des Cheyne
Turriff Agri Parts Ltd – Mr George Mearns
Bert Christie Portsoy Livestock Haulage